April 4 – The Strangest Things In The World

I love, love, love this idea and I think I may have found a new source of inspiration. For today, we were asked to write a poem using the titles from “The Strangest Things In The World,” which was first published in 1958. I had these visions of something from Paradise Falls in the movie “Up,” so it’s kind of amusing to me this was published somewhat recently. Anyway, I was a bit torn with my options. I thought about A Flower That Grows Through Solid Ice, The Eerie Eyes of Animals at Night, and The Varieties of Raven Languages. However, I decided on The Lace Weavers, which was the first name I saw. It struck a chord, reminding me a bit of the Greek myth around Arachne, as well as the weavings I regularly see in my town made by Dine weavers. All of this is to say, I didn’t really have an option to write this. It chose me.

Grace and precision
Back and forth our hands fly
Delicate as a bird perched on a limb
Confident as a lion on the prowl.

Stories and myths
Beliefs and moral are formed
To be passed down generation to generation
Sharing our lifelines long after we’re gone.

Colors and shapes
Art and livelihood wrapped together
You may admire what we have created
But you may never know who we are.

Leave a comment